A password-protected directory or area is a folder that could be accessed only if a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized individuals can look at its content. This option can be used for the primary folder of a specific Internet site or only for a specific subfolder in accordance with your requirements. For instance, when you are creating a new website and you do not want people to see it prior to it being completely ready, you need to prohibit the access to it entirely, while if you would like only some individuals to be able to access certain files, you'll be able to password-protect only a particular folder, while the remaining portion of the site can be seen by anybody. Anyway, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in case the login details the visitor types in aren't right. Even a direct link to a file shall not work provided any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Website Hosting

All of our website hosting include a very handy tool which will enable you to secure any folder in your account from unauthorized access with just 2 clicks. When you log in to your Hepsia website hosting Control Panel, you'll simply have to go to the Password Protection section, to choose the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which should be secured - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to type in the username and the password that have to be used to access the content in question. The function shall be activated instantly, so in case you try to open the folder/website, you will be prompted to input the login info. You can create or remove multiple usernames for the exact same folder, when necessary. When you navigate to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders will be marked with a tiny padlock icon.